Work Inspired Me

A couple weeks ago, out of the blue, a gentleman emailed me and asked if I’d be interested in designing a t-shirt for him. I thought about it, and after talking too him, I decided that it’d be fun to do some illustration/design work again. After all, I haven’t done graphic design work as an income source for some years now.

At one point, I was designing in a small shop that created advertising graphics, and I also designed and fab-ed custom lighted and neon signs for customers.

As time went on, I got more focused in vintage art forms and fine arts. I stopped hiring out for design work, and started working in a corporate office to finance my art and our goal of the future.

When I started this latest design job, I fell right in sync. I started looking over the art and the photos that where simular to what I needed to convey and then I started illustrating. You know… It felt good to illustrate and help a small company out again. That’s what I really like to do. I’ve never really been about the big guy. I just love designing and I try and be reasonable.

Well, all this brings me to this post that I’m doing now. Why? Because it got my mind thinking again. I think I’m going to start looking for design work again. With that in mind, I started to check out my favorite subject, Mid-Century (or MCM influenced) Graphic Design. Below, you’ll find some of my favorites from the net. Please note that this images have links to the pages they where found on. Make sure and check them out as well. You never know what you’ll find.

Just a secondary note, if your looking for someone to do some reasonably priced graphics or illustration, let me know. I’d love to build up my portfolio again. Contact me at amidstmod at yahoo.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

